---
title: "Workflow"
source: https://dev.pageseeder.com/reference/glossary/workflow.html
last_updated: 2026-08-07T17:09:54+10:00
tokens: ~484
---

# Workflow

An [XLink object](../../guide/document_modeling/pageseeder_objects.md) that expresses the stages in a document’s lifecycle – reducing coordination overheads in a collaborative writing environment. In the user interface, workflows use the workflow icon.

There can only be one workflow per document – the status of the document is the workflow status. 

> **Note:** Unlike [tasks](task.md), workflows are bound to the whole of the document they are created on and cannot be moved or removed.

Like [tasks](task.md), workflows let you use the following properties on a document:

- **[Status](status.md)** – nominates the state of the document.
- **[Priority](priority.md)** – nominates the importance of the work.
- **[Assignee](assignee.md)** – nominates the member responsible for the document – by default, only the assignee is [notified](notification.md).
- **Due Date** – nominates when completion of the work is required.

> **Tip:** The document status values available to use depend on the [role](../../../_external/ps/doc/help/help/2_terms_and_explanations/term/role.md) that a member has in the group. In the [group properties](../../../_external/ps/doc/help/help/1_user_interface/layout/group_properties.md), managers can set the values for workflow properties and which [roles](../../../_external/ps/doc/help/help/2_terms_and_explanations/term/role.md) can use them.

You can advance the document workflow to a next stage by using the **workflow dialog**. 

Workflows can also use [labels](labels.md). Workflows can be created on multiple documents at the same time (using the [batch processing](batch_processing.md)), but they are independent from each other.

The comment content of workflows can be edited retrospectively – no notification is generated for the edits.

When you archive a document, the workflow is also automatically archived. If the document is unarchived, the workflow is also unarchived.

